Elephant Trunk Hill
With a history spanning over 3.6 hundred million years and a height of about 200 metres, Elephant Trunk Hill is one of Guilin’s greatest landmarks. Its name derives from its resemblance of an elephant sucking water from the river with its trunk.
Between the trunk and the legs of the elephant lies the Water-Moon Cave shaped like that of a full moon. This cave and the surrounding hills have added great beauty and enchantment to the hill, especially at night. In the evening, weather permitting, the cave with the water flowing below creates a fantastic picture of 'three moons': the water-moon cave, the moon in the sky and the moon reflected on the water. Another cave on the Elephant Trunk Hill acts as the eye of the animal. The 'eye' is actually a 2-meter-high, 20-meter-long cave that stretches through the hill from south to north hence the name ‘Elephant Eyes Cave’. Puxian Pagoda, found on top of the hill, also boasts a rich history which dates back to the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644).